“Find My Friends” App can track anyone anywhere

Have you heard of this app called “Find My Friends”?

It allows you to track ANY of your friends anywhere they go! Of course, it must be done with their consent otherwise it won’t work.

What’s more, it’s FREE on all Apple devices, while Android version does come with a small fee for its premium.

App that is available, and native to apple users. It is made by Apple, and you can get it here https://itunes.apple.com/sg/app/find-my-friends/id466122094?mt=8
App developed for the android platform, it works nearly the same as the one available on Apple devices. You can get it here https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.fsp.android.friendlocator&hl=en

This app was originally developed by Apple Inc. on 11 Oct 2011, with their version 1.0, and has now been updated to version 7.0 made tracking your friends so much easier.

While many would think that this sort of app is just creepy and resort to not touching it at all, others have it well received.

Many parents in the US actually use this app to track their children, whether their kids were at school, or they went somewhere else.

Reviews from the Android app. 
Reviews from the Android app.

These kind of Apps are perfectly legal to use if both parties comply with having their location been tracked all the time.

The Apple version is made available on all of their devices, “Find My Friends allows you to easily locate friends and family using your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch. Just install the app and share your location with your friends by choosing from your contacts, entering their email addresses or phone numbers, or using AirDrop.”

“When you share your location, your friends can start following your location immediately and easily share their locations back with you so that you are both in the loop. If at any time you do not want to be followed, you can hide your location with a single switch.” is written in the description, so yes, this can become a one-sided tracking if you disabled for your friend but your friend didn’t.

The downside of using this app is the battery usage.

Since you are constantly sharing your location, the “Location Service” is turned on indefinitely, thus drains your battery faster than the norm.

If you are still sold by the app, here is how you can get it.

First, you’ll need to download the Free app on your Apple or Android devices.

For Apple devices, once that’s done, sign into your iTunes account to access the app.

For Android devices, you can either sign in with your Google account or create a native account with the app.

Now you’ll need some friends to stalk track. For Apple devices, use the add button under the “All” tab. If your friend already had Find My Friend installed it’ll show up in his app as a request; if he doesn’t have the app installed, he’ll get an email asking him to download the app. Once he’s accepted your invitation, you should see his email address pop up, along with his location — though it may take a while for this to happen. To add his photo and name to your friend’s Find My Friend entry, simply link it to his entry in your Contacts app.

Android users can start with adding your friends from your Contacts, a request will be sent to your friend if they have it installed, if not you will have to ask them to install the app personally. Once the requested was accepted, you will see his name pop up along with his current location, it usually happens instantly, if not you could wait for 10-15 seconds until the location synchronized. If all goes well, you are good to go tracking some unsuspecting friends who were on secret dates.

If you are finding all of these creepy, here is how you can protect yourself from being tracked.

Apple acknowledges the potential risks of the app, and has made many layers to safeguard its access. The app can only be opened with your passcode/TouchID/FaceID if you had set it up, however, it does not prompt the verification request if you do not have it set up, so made sure it is.

In order to get a friend tracked, your friend Must accept their request for it to happen. You will not be able to track your friend if they hate reject you.

You can also disable their tracking at any time by tapping your friend’s name, and tap “Disable Tracking”. Now they won’t be able to find or annoy you ever again, goodbye friendship…

What do you think of this app? Creepy or awesome? Let us know below!

Samsung Galaxy S9 is launching this March, for more information, you can read it here.

For more tech-related news, you can read it here.

 

 

 

 

Facebook Comments